Colour Blocking : Saturday night’s look, 22/12

Hello people !
How’s it going on this Christmas Eve?
I bet there’s a whole lot of you doing the mad dash for last minute shopping! Tis the season for good food, crazy sales and all round merry making πŸ™‚

I had an awesome time over the weekend at my close friends’ early Christmas party. It began at 7pm and ended at 8am the next day! Went home completely knackered but happy πŸ™‚

I purchased a number of dresses from Forever 21 + which is the brand’s plus sized avenue for us bodacious bebes. The neat thing was I didn’t have to purchase them from the US itself, these dresses were advertised by an eBay Singapore seller. Good thing I bought the whole lot of them because that was all she was selling in the plus size range!

20121224-101152.jpg

I opted for a knee length, spaghetti strapped colour blocked dress with a high waist cut. Since I am particularly conscious of my arms, I decided to pair the dress with a dark blue cropped shrug. I did a bit of colour blocking of my own to the look by adding a slim silver belt and one of my favourite fashion jewellery pieces, the ethnic-chic silver statement necklace.

20121224-101249.jpg

The colour blocking trend is so versatile and has staying power. It has been featured in fashion editorials and on the ramp numerous amount of times in 2012 and it appears to still be in vogue for Spring 2013.

Here are a few looks celebrities pulled off in 2012 with this trend that caught my attention.

20121224-125828.jpg

I’ve been working on creating my first proper fashion collage and here it is, featuring plus sized colour blocked outfits

20121224-130044.jpg

Aside from clothing, you can choose to colour block your ensemble by choosing accessories

20121224-131121.jpg

The makeup look was simple.
I decided to go easy on the lips with a simple pink lip balm and added a touch of silver on the upper eyelids and corner of the eyes, with kohl on the lower lashes (kohl, my staple) and a swipe of black mascara.

20121224-131717.jpg

I really liked the swish at the lower end of the dress, the texture was jersey-like therefore really comfortable. As much as I like outfits that hug the body, it’s so much fun wearing outfits with flares & swish like skater dresses, midi skirts and this F21+ colour blocked dress.

Ethnic fashion has often favoured colour blocking, here is an example of Indian fashion adopting the style

20121224-132634.jpg

Well, it’s going to be one hell of a week ahead! Christmas and my birthday, plenty of dinners, merry making and but of course, dressing up!

Enjoy yourselves but drive sober or get a sober designated driver! And take care of your health yeah, mother hen insists πŸ™‚

Stay sassy ladies and remember,
Your curves become You

MERRY CHRISTMAS xxxo

20121224-133101.jpg

20121224-133200.jpg

2 thoughts on “Colour Blocking : Saturday night’s look, 22/12

Leave a Reply

