Camo Daze

Hi guys!

Met up with my close friends earlier to have a lil impromptu bday celebration for a good friend of mine. So this is what I wore for the evening:

20130518-043010.jpg

20130518-043052.jpg

It wasn’t a formal dinner, we hung out at our usual joint.. a Pakistani food stall in Lil India.

Purchased the camo jacket from a vintage store during the Melbourne holiday. I’ve always been a fan of the army uniform – dates back to when I’d watch my uncle an Army Major come home from work in his army gear. He is beautiful to look at already – tanned skin with green eyes (yes we have different eye colours in the family), with the army beret and those heavy duty boots. In fact, I would have you know that I had given serious deliberation to enlisting when I was 17.

Thank goodness I changed my mind!!
Me and authority don’t mix too well.

I layered the jacket with a plain black tee, black leggings (Cotton On), a long bronze flat beaded necklace purchased from a flea market.

20130518-043757.jpg

20130518-043832.jpg

Just to give the look more pizzazz, I decided to continue working on perfecting the winged-tip eyeliner (still quite a work in progress). Added some rouge to the lips and gave the new hair do some teasing with my round headed brush – always helpful to use a medium round head brush when you have a wavy mane that has layers like mine.

20130518-044334.jpg

Being a tomboy by heart, this look was easy to carry off. Of course, you can always go chic with the look (yes it’s possible) and embellish the camo jacket – studs, spikes, black lace, rhinestones. And you can add extra bling with a statement necklace or large studded earrings if you place your hair in a coif. Just don’t go all Breakfast at Tiffany’s with the outfit, that’s just too much of a clash of worlds (well, that’s my humble opinion anyway).

Hurrah to the weekend!
Now if only there was a day in between Saturday and Sunday..

Til my next post,
Love those curves and Be kind to one another 🙂

20130518-044951.jpg

4 thoughts on “Camo Daze

    1. thanks Kate! gosh I love your hairstyle, so chic 🙂 I can’t recall the name of the vintage store in Melbourne, but that place was filled with fabulous vintage finds like this jacket

Leave a Reply

