white lace Friday

Heya!
How was your week..good, okay, not so good, fab? Well whatever it is I hope you have an awesome weekend!

It was my evening in town, for some retail therapy. My monthly splurge! Bought some stuff from Baby Phat, Dorothy Perkins, Cotton On, Uniqlo so I am a happy camper. Have to get my usual toiletries as well and a nice pair of shoes so that will be my next session soon haha.

I intended to check out Flow, this new plus size store in town, must go do that soon. Will keep you posted and take pics.

my look for Friday evening:

20130629-032843.jpg

Lace midi dress – eBay UK
necklace – Lovisa
flats – Marie Claire

Since I was out and about I decided to snap the look outdoors. Which was fun yet unnerving because of curious onlookers :p It was good fun!

20130629-033042.jpg

I purchased this dress 2 months back and there were the options of buying it in cerise, black, red but I thought white was a good choice for the summer plus I have been meaning to get a few nice dresses in white. It’s got a slip attached underneath and it’s really comfortable. From the next post onwards I will include a link to the eBay shops I get my purchases from so that you can have a look-see and who knows, get something for yourself! Always good to Care and Share right? 🙂

20130629-033637.jpg

20130629-033715.jpg

I will Always love chunky necklaces, whether they are in fashion or not. This necklace is a replica of the famous Valentina Massi necklace. I love the tribal vibe it gives off, tribal accents are so up my alley. Fyi: Tribal wear & accessories are picking up popularity this season.

20130629-033938.jpg

I really like how the dress hugs the curves but is slimming at the same time. Of course, I do have on a tummy shaper underneath, can’t do without my spanxx! I am very conscious about my arms but I threw caution to the wind and dared to bare. Sleeveless and Fearless!

20130629-034215.jpg

I am rather pleased with how the hair & makeup turned out with this look. I simply scrunched the hair with my fingers to amp up the curls at the ends. No hair spray needed. For the face, I used my CC cream from The Body Shop on the eyes to minimise the dark under eye area and I applied a dab of my compact powder from the same store. For lips, I applied a pink gloss from Rimmel. Gave the eyes some oomph at the ends with black kohl and a swipe of Rimmel mascara.

20130629-034840.jpg

It’s GSS – the Great Singapore Sale – so you can imagine the pandemonium in the stores. I decided to give online purchasing a miss this month and see what was available in stores.

Baby Phat has larger sizes and the collection is pretty good. There were quite a few one shoulder and bodycon dresses, flowy tops. I’m a big fan of Kimora Lee and it’s neat to see how her personal taste is so evident in all the outfits she designs. She was in Singapore earlier this month, it had something to do with the local Harper’s Bazaar. The hubster actually saw her walking around a mall in Orchard Road and I shrieked like a fangirl when he got home and regaled the tale smugly.

Dorothy Perkins has a good range of outfits too and I do love the Kardashian collection. I mean, whatever that’s said and done about the family..the girls are very fashion savvy and it shows in the selection. Plus, they cater to curvy bodies! Not purchased something from that collection yet, definitely will do so next month.

I purchased a body shaper from M&S because they have a good range of them..and it was on sale. I do enjoy checking out some of their clothing but geez I wish there were more sales in that store. A simple pair of ballet flats for $99 is an overkill for me.

I am pleasantly surprised by the Japanese brand Uniqlo. I had dismissed it thinking it wouldn’t store clothing in my size but I window shopped with my girlfriend one evening and found that not to be true. I purchased a pink V neck tee today from the store and a pretty silk stole. Will be wearing the pink top for Pink Dot later today – Singapore’s initiative towards showing love to the LGBT community. It’s something that is close to my heart. I believe that love is love, whichever form that may be. So I cannot wait to parade in the dress code of pink to show my support and gather with the masses!

Stay tuned for pictures from the weekend, there are quite a few events lines up so its going to be fun 😉

Love those curves my ladies,
Love yourself and Be Kind to One Another xxx

20130629-040509.jpg

8 thoughts on “white lace Friday

    1. aww thanks H!! I was pretty tentative about the dress when I first bought it but that’s the cool thing about starting the blog..Im beginning to move beyond my comfort zone with fashion and more willing to try new looks!

    1. thank u! Yes I agree it is a more feminine look for me 🙂 hehe yeah most women enjoy those retail therapy sessions – blissful to go home and try the new clothes on! 😉

Leave a Reply

