the weekend edition : 29/6/13

A very sleepy Hello,
always the case after a weekend 🙂
It was an eventful one, and I hope the month of July brings many more such good times!

I attended Pink Dot on Saturday evening, which is an initiative to show support for the LGBT community in Singapore. The dress code is of course the colour Pink and there were musical performances by local artists, local dance troupes and we ended the evening by shining the pink torches we were given towards the sky, in solidarity and they took some gorgeous aerial shots of that moment. The message is simple : All We Want is Our Freedom to Love.

This was my look for Pink Dot :

20130701-113438.jpg

Pink top: Uniqlo
Assorted bangles : The Island Shop

Here is an aerial shot of the pink torches that lit up the sky

20130701-113610.jpg

Gorgeous isn’t it? 🙂
It was one of those rare occasions when I felt proud to call Singapore home.

After that ended, I sped off to make sure I was on time for my pal’s surprise birthday party! It was a themed party -Austin Powers – because well, our dear birthday girl is a very tongue in cheek person! I didn’t have time prior to the event to get a proper look or costume so I accessorised with a boa feather haha. Here a few snaps from the party:

20130701-114113.jpg

20130701-114136.jpg

20130701-114211.jpg

20130701-114231.jpg

Sunday evening was spent at the Esplanade to check out Baybeats 2013, a 3 day music festival of local & regional bands. Sunday was the last day and I really wanted to check the scene out so I got my mates to join in as well. We were all rather sleepy but it was enjoyable! Music was good, food was yum and the bazaar they had was quaint with handmade items like leather guitar slings, handmade purses, postcards, instant photo booths.

This was my look for the evening:

20130701-114745.jpg

royal blue sleeveless top – local store
indigo skinny jeans – ASOS
black clutch purse – eBay Singapore
gold sandals – Charles & Keith
necklace & ear stud set – Lovisa

20130701-115115.jpg

20130701-115150.jpg

20130701-115222.jpg

20130701-115319.jpg

20130701-115349.jpg

I was always a dark denim jeans and tee kinda girl but my weight gain made me think that I wouldn’t be able to carry that look as nicely as I used to before. What I like about this look is the streamlined effect of the denim, the enhancement of the right curves with a suitable top and it is comfortable to boot! Instead of my usual ballet flats, I decided to style it up with my one and only pair of ‘heels’. Well, they aren’t flat so I consider them higher heeled shoes. It’s a positive step and a big one at that for my injured feet 🙂

I kept makeup light, enhancing the eyes with the NARS black marker, along with a natural skin tone shade of berry.

I won’t lie, I feel uncomfortable when putting my arms on display. For that I am going to begin working them out, along with the rest of my body. I try not to focus on the fleshy bits that spill out of my outfit..it’s not going to do me any good. While I work on getting my body in shape, I don’t mind daring to barer by going sleeveless. Now shorter skirts is a whole other story, let me tackle with one insecurity at a time!

Here are a few snaps from Sunday evening. With that, I leave you to have a good start to the new week.

Be Kind to one another folks, don’t jump to conclusions about people based on their size, age, sexual orientation and other factors. Embrace these differences and broaden your mind’s horizon. Sending all my love to you out there xxxxo

20130701-120842.jpg

20130701-120916.jpg

20130701-120942.jpg

20130701-121013.jpg

2 thoughts on “the weekend edition : 29/6/13

    1. hello fellow Singaporean! So good
      to have a local read my blog, yeah I know that sounds odd but its true 😝 thank you for the sweet vote of confidence! I try my darnedest ☺ Looking forward to checking out your posts xxx

Leave a Reply

