dressed for a summer evening

G’day folks!
How’s your week been?
Well fret not if it has been long and dreary, the weekend is a few hours away! For the people in the East anyway :p

This evening was bittersweet.
Sweet, because we met up with the hubster’s best friend who is now a very close friend of mine as well, along with his wife and a couple of his close friends. They have lived in Melbourne since getting married, the place Su and I considers home. However, the couple are headed to London tomorrow for a 6 month work stint, followed by a year in South Korea and 1 1/2 years in Saudi. Ranjit and Dharshini, we don’t know when you’ll next be coming down to Singapore in between these work stints and you will be sorely missed! We count ourselves lucky to have friends as supportive, genuine and loving as you πŸ™‚

I felt like wearing a dress this evening so this is what I went with :

20130725-232730.jpg

20130725-232800.jpg

20130725-232826.jpg

dress with plaid tulip skirt – Topshop, size 16, eBay Singapore
blue Venetian glass necklace – vintage store, Melbourne
ballet flats – Marie Claire, Bata

20130725-233131.jpg

20130725-233240.jpg

Decided to contour the eyes with a bright blue Revlon eyeshadow, left the lips simple with a hint of my Benefit lippie, and a swipe of mascara at the ends of the upper lashes. I also applied some kohl at the upper lash line.

20130725-233429.jpg

20130725-233505.jpg

The dress was So lightweight and comfortable, I was iffy about getting it at a size 16..but I am in between a UK 16-18 so I decided to give this a shot. Am I glad I did πŸ™‚

We had dinner at The Garden Slug, at Telok Kurau Lorong L. It’s tucked away around a few pet stores so its a pet friendly spot. I got distracted before entering the restaurant, let me show you why!

20130725-234353.jpg

WABBITS! Gah!!!! So cute!
I want pet rabbits but the hubster is adamant we don’t form a petting zoo at home. If I had a chance, I’d have birds, rabbits, a chicken, ducks, an aquarium.

Yeah .. I kinda love animals. A lot.

20130725-234617.jpg

After cooing at the rabbits, the hubster dragged me to the restaurant but guess what stopped me from entering?

20130725-234707.jpg

Kitty! I had to pet it and coo at it for a while. So my amused friends in the restaurant watched me enter with a big excited smile on my face πŸ˜€

Dinner was alright, I did really like the brownie Popsicles. It comes in a pair, is quite tasty.

20130725-235555.jpg

Im very attached to my friends, so saying goodbye even for such work stints pains me. I value my pals and immediate family immensely. But Im glad the waterworks didn’t start! I’ve done that before when saying goodbye :p

Here’s to a weekend spent with loved ones, with the people who warm our hearts and keep us tethered to reality πŸ™‚

Be Kind to One Another,
xxxo Aarti Olivia

P.S: I have not clocked in a workout this week due to ‘feminine’ health issues..but I intend to have one tomorrow so stay tuned for that post!

20130726-000012.jpg

One thought on “dressed for a summer evening

Leave a Reply

