a long weekend holiday

Hiya folks,
apologies for going AWOL for a week but I had good reason to be missing in action πŸ˜‰

As some of you might know, our Muslim counterparts celebrated Ramadan last Thursday. Singapore being a multicultural society has a public holiday for Aidilfitri, and the next day was National Day which is the celebration of our independence so it was another public holiday. I took full advantage of this long weekend and booked myself a trip to Indonesia for a short vacation with my girlfriend Renee. We both needed the breather away from Sg’s hustle and bustle!

It was some really good downtime in Jakarta, more so because they celebrate Ramadan so the streets were not busy and the malls were not packed to the brim. Our aim for the trip was simple – eat heartily, catch up on sleep, swim and get a relaxing few hours at the spa – and I am happy to report that we did All of the Above πŸ™‚

I enjoy different holiday styles and Im not talking fashion here. Holidays chockfull of sight seeing, beach bumming trips, urban landscapes, shopping jaunts, backpacking, budget travelling are all trips that I enjoy. This time round I was in the mood for some pampering and luxuriating, so we put up at the gorgeous Mandarin Oriental Jakarta.

20130813-121002.jpg

20130813-121111.jpg

20130813-121147.jpg

20130813-121248.jpg

20130814-005945.jpg

The malls in Jakarta are pretty fabulous, and they cater to larger sizes so it’s my new pit stop for a place to shop! I had no intention to shop much this time round, so I’ll bring the moolah when I go the next time round πŸ˜‰

Indo food has got to be one of fav Asian cuisines, here’s a meal we had on Day 1

20130814-010330.jpg

The breakfast spread at the hotel was amazing

20130814-010435.jpg

20130814-010503.jpg

I was feeling kinda tired on day 1, so I was dressed very simple and without makeup

20130814-010557.jpg

Wore a really pretty tank top from Dorothy Perkins on Day 2 with my ASOS jeans

20130814-010645.jpg

These were my only 2 purchases during a trip: a scarf, and necklace

20130814-010729.jpg

Naturally, I spent some time at the pool πŸ™‚

20130814-010834.jpg

20130814-010920.jpg

Purchased this pretty turquoise one-piece swimsuit from Singsale, an online local store.

I also brought my pretty dress purchased during the 2012 trip to Bali

20130814-011044.jpg

We decided to dress up for dinner on our last night, I wore a dress from Forever 21 +

20130814-011200.jpg

I love the metallic earrings I wore with the dress, from local store The Island Shop. I have noticed that my fashion style is mostly classic chic but my taste for accessories & jewellery is bohemian.

20130814-011419.jpg

Before dinner, we asked a fellow Mandarin Oriental hotel-stayer (that’s not a word, I know!) to snap pics of us. We ended up chatting and enjoying his company so much that we invited him along for dinner.

Little did we know that he was a stuntman, part of the crew of Michael Mann’s new production and the director & crew were all putting up at the hotel! Talk about getting starry eyed!

20130814-011718.jpg

Brennan also acts as a stunt double for LL Cool J for NCIS LA and works for the show Grimm. Im a crazy movie & TV buff so boy I had questions hahaha!

On our last day, Renee and I got to know the movie crew and rubbed shoulders with Michael himself. Chris Hemsworth (Thor) and Viola Davis (The Help) were there as well, so imagine my excitement!

After checking out, we still had time so we went for a blissful and serene 2 hour spa treatment. Im a big fan of Indonesian styled massages, they’re less harsh and so aromatic. My favourite part is the delicious ginger tea we are served at the end of a treatment.

20130814-012216.jpg

I really enjoy getting to know the heart of a place when I travel there and Jakarta is pretty similar to my own nation’s concrete jungle but it was a relaxing trip all the same. No noisy pets, no distractions..It was nice to get away and spend time with my like minded girl friend. We spent evenings just laughing at TV shows or soaking in the tub.

It makes you think about how much stress you put on yourself on a daily basis. There is little time to slow down, appreciate the beauty of a sunshiny day . So I am thankful for this timely reminder.

All the same, I was so happy to be reunited with the hubster and my fur monsters..they make my world go round and their absence only reminded me of how very precious they are to me.

I hope you guys are having a good week, take some time out for a change and have a breather..trust me, it makes Such a difference πŸ™‚

Til my next post, sending you heaps of love and good thoughts

20130814-013055.jpg

xxxo Aarti Olivia

Leave a Reply

