date night : girl in the FLOW dress

Every once in a while, the hubster and I make it a point to get away from the hustle & bustle of the city life and have dinner at a quiet spot. Greenwich village is a small spot close to home, quiet and nice to chill out at.

I decided to dress up for the date (old couples, you know we get lazy with dressing up after a while!). I have worn the Flow dress in teal before but hadn’t done a proper blog shoot for it. So I decided to do that this time.

The Look:

20131004-023445.jpg

20131004-023528.jpg

teal dress with a ruched waist : Flow clothing, Malaysia (online store)

necklace : vintage thrift store

wedge heels : Rubi

I should have bought the dress in a size smaller, so if you’re a size uk 18 like me I would suggest that you order a size up because it has a generous fit.

I solved that problem with a satin sash,
is a better look than a belt. Always keep a
couple of medium sized sashes handy, best to go for a plain colored one without prints..for when you’d like to add a little extra styling to an outfit.

I recall wearing ballet flats with the dress when I was out with my friends the last time I wore this, and I much prefer heels on this. It is a classy dress and heels add an extra dash of that to the look. It’s definitely a more grown-up, sophisticated look suited for formal evening occasions. I think it’d be mighty awkward if I wore this for coffee with a friend! :p

20131004-024355.jpg

20131004-024457.jpg

20131004-024539.jpg

I love the way this dress slopes off the shoulders and tastefully shows off the décolletage and back.

20131004-024818.jpg

Teal is not a personal favourite colour, but I do like the dress overall so it’s a big plus in my books!

Since I was going for a classy look, I applied a shade of deep rouge to the lips. First with my Lakme lip liner, then added a dab of red gloss over it. For the eyes, I kept it simple with a swipe of mascara at the tip of the eyelids and kohl at the lower lash line. Goes without saying that I applied concealer under the eye and on the discoloured spots.

I reckon watching the makeup tutorials is paying off! What do you say?

20131004-025258.jpg

I was Waiting for a chance to wear this necklace because it’s so pretty and am I glad I picked it to go with the dress 🙂

20131004-025456.jpg

Getting acquainted with wearing heels is a work in progress. I wasn’t in as much pain as I was the last time I wore them, slowly and steadily my feet are getting primed for prettier heels to come! I love the shade I got this pair in, such a pretty pastel shade. The teenage goth in Me was screaming somewhere for sure as I purchased this pair 😉

20131004-025753.jpg

The hubster, my enthusiastic photog snapped a few pics of me during dinner :

20131004-025909.jpg

20131004-025944.jpg

That last shot was just him showing off the photo effects on his new phone, the Samsung Galaxy 4. It’s in Noir mode I think.

That wraps up my fashion blog post for the week! I will be writing up a post over the weekend with a focus toward body image. So stay tuned!

I hope you ladies (and men!) have been kind to yourselves. Reading the news about happenings around the world really disturb me and I earnestly hope that wherever you are, you are well. And I mean it when I say that you can always reach out should you want to. At the end of the day, fashion blogging and body positivity aside, I am simply a person who cares for the ones around her. The blog has my email addie so feel free to drop a line 🙂

Have a good weekend my loves!
xxxo Aarti Olivia Dubey

20131004-030515.jpg

3 thoughts on “date night : girl in the FLOW dress

Leave a Reply

