Diwali 2013 weekend : Day 1

Hi guys πŸ™‚
This weekend will be feature ethnic outfits since it’s the season of Diwali. I hope my friends celebrating it are having a fabulous time!

Hubster and I had a lazy day, then got dressed for dinner with friends.

20131103-043952.jpg

20131103-044030.jpg

20131103-044139.jpg

20131103-044214.jpg

I purchased this Anarkali styled punjabi suit in canary yellow from Utsav.com. What I love about that website is that they can custom make your suits according to your size, and it’s pretty affordable. The material has a layer of lace, net and chiffon. The trimmings at the end of the suit and the embroidery at the top are silver, which makes for a neat combination of colors. It did come with a yellow pair of pants but I decided that black leggings would go better.

I accessorised simply with a pair of earrings purchased a few days back in Little India

20131103-044717.jpg

I wore a tiny bindi on the forehead and a fake nose stud, it’s usually what I do when dressed ethnic.

20131103-045002.jpg

20131103-045114.jpg

This style of a punjabi suit is called Anarkali because it’s reminiscent of the outfit a princess would wear during the Mughal empire’s rule over India (this was aaaaages ago). The story of Anarkali the Mughal princess is well known, hence the name of this punjabi suit style.

Sunday will be spent with Friends and then dinner with my folks. Stay tuned for the blog post on Monday πŸ™‚

Sending you lots of love,
xxxo Aarti Olivia Dubey

2 thoughts on “Diwali 2013 weekend : Day 1

Leave a Reply

