sunny colours on a cloudy day

Hello guys,
the day that just passed (25 Nov) signified a special date – that was the day the hubster and I had our Hindu wedding ceremony. Although, we had solemnised our marriage legally way back in Jan, in the eyes of our orthodox Hindu parents’ it wasn’t complete until the wedding at the temple.

Although it was a bittersweet time (I will touch upon that another time), I heaved a sigh of relief after the ceremony was over. I was Finally able to live with the hubster in our small apartment. This was pre-dog adoption & home renovation. To say that we have been through challenging times is an understatement.
Today, our love and respect for each other is stronger than ever. We don’t need the big flashy things in life, as long as we have each other..it’s all good πŸ™‚

We like to keep it simple, so I met the hubster for a cuppa Joe at Awfully Chocolate – it’s one of Singapore’s go-to places for chocolate truffles and hot choco.

Such a day will naturally place me in a sunny disposition, so I decided to wear a bright coloured outfit. Which is so ironic given how it started pouring when it was time to snap pictures!

The Look :

20131126-001846.jpg

20131126-001919.jpg

20131126-002007.jpg

Cerise Pink bodycon jersey dress uk size 16/18 (eBay uk)
Pink wedge heels (Rubi)
assortment of bangles (Mango, Topshop)
gum drop turquoise earrings (Asos)
maroon cardigan (Marks & Spencer’s)

20131126-002310.jpg

I love the bright pop of colour, the bodycon fit and soft texture of the dress
BUT I must admit that unless you are wearing good shape wear, this is not a very forgiving outfit. I am learning as I go along and realised after taking the photos that it would have been more ideal if I had worn my high waisted spanxx with thigh control. Having said that, it’s also essential to have seamless underwear with such outfits..unless you actually like VPL?

Overall, I give the dress the thumbs up and look forward to purchasing in a few more colors. It isn’t the kind of scratchy jersey material that looks too casual to wear on an evening out, so I wore it this evening for our anniversary date night.

I’m guessing you’ll know by now that I will wear this again, over the weekend to rock it in a different way πŸ˜‰ Lets see which one you and I prefer!

More accents of the look :

20131126-003023.jpg

20131126-003051.jpg

Air conditioning in the malls here tend to be a bit much, especially if it already is a cooler day. So I paired the dress with my red cardi

20131126-003321.jpg

20131126-003346.jpg

20131126-003412.jpg

So that’s a wrap on this look, here are a few informal snaps taken with the hubster πŸ™‚

20131126-003516.jpg

I dedicate this post to Suresh, my hubster. Who has loved and supported me through times of joy, sorrow, angst and fear. I could not have asked for a better partner in life πŸ™‚

Here’s me wishing you, my readers a lot of love and gratitude. Remember that even when a look may not translate as nicely as you thought it would, there is Always a way to rock it – with your attitude! You make the clothes better, not the other way round. Love those curves!

love,
Aarti Olivia xxxo

20131126-004201.jpg

3 thoughts on “sunny colours on a cloudy day

  1. Congrats on your anniversary! You look lovely as always. I think pin is your color you seem to wear it a lot in your posts and it looks divine with your skin tone.

Leave a Reply

