Liebster award number deux!

Okay so this was awarded by my dear fellow WordPress blogger Curvy Girl5.
I’m not going to tag anyone else in this, will just answer the questions 🙂

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging because writing is one of the best ways I express myself. I have been writing for a long time now, it started with poetry and short journal entries when I was 16..moved on to more intensely introspective works.

I had an introspective blog for years, but I decided to close that chapter and move on to Curves Become Her. Best decision I made 🙂 I do still have a blog where I post writing for therapeutic catharsis, that I do not share publicly.

How did you come up with your blog idea?

I came up with CBH a while after a pivotal change in my 30th year. I had decided to stop with the personal fat shaming and instead embrace my body as it was, is, will be. I began to look up plus sized bloggers – ones who spoke of body positivity, ones who spoke of fashion – and realised that there was little support for plus sized girls in my region – Asia. So I decided to lend my voice and work on self healing along with showing love for girls like me out there. Letting them know that they were not alone in this, they did not have to live feeling bad about themselves and that they had far more fashion choices than they realised.

Do you have a Bucket List?

Yes I do.
It’s a combination of things I’d like to accomplish, places to see, concerts & music festivals to check out, experiences that are personally fulfilling.

For example, I had always wanted to visit the tiger temple that was a few hours away from Bangkok. I wanted to interact with these magnificent creatures. And I finally did it last December! Next thing on my list with animals is interacting with elephants.

If you were to have a reality show, what would you name it?

I would name it The Odd Cookie Life.
Since that’s what I am, kinda odd and of an acquired taste 🙂

What three charities would you like to volunteer for?

1) an animal welfare group

2) an environment friendly group for going green initiatives and forming an earth friendly way to everyday living

3) working with children to empower their self image

If you were a designer, what type would you be?

I would probably be someone like DVF and Valentino – classic, classy but interesting silhouettes, but I’d cater to my plus size ladies.

Are you an introvert or extrovert?

this always seems to surprise people. I am an introvert. I am not one for crowded gatherings, constant meet ups and chatting on the phone. As much as I enjoy my time with my loved ones, I always reach a point where I need to withdraw into myself. I am comfortable with solitude, just not complete isolation – I have had periods where I would just disappear and ‘hibernate’, but those periods don’t occur as much now.

If you started a business, what kind would it be?

There are a few business I’d like to try my hand at :

1) designing plus size clothing
2) introducing yoga for plus sized lasses here in Asia
3) having a gym catered to plus sized lasses where the goal isn’t to lose the pounds, but to stay active and enjoy being active
4) having a network and forum for plus sized women to involve them in body positive initiatives

Are you superstitious?

Once upon a time, yes.
Not anymore 🙂

I had one for online dating but since you are taken, would you have tried online dating?

Sure I would have! I’ve had friends meet the love of their lives through online dating so I would have given it a try.

4 thoughts on “Liebster award number deux!

  1. Hey Aarti, how are you? Good I hope. I am glad you had time to answer the questions I had for you. And your answers were not what I expected. Very interesting. I enjoyed reading them. Thanks for making time and I hope you have a good weekend.

  2. Hi just want to say you look fabulous and it’s lovely to see a fellow Singaporean rocking curves for once…

    Found this while trying to figure out if there were yoga places or gyms in SG that don’t fat-shame – do you know any? Preferably west? I’m quite happy as a US14/16 but super unfit and would like somewhere to go learn yoga or pilates without being judged cos ain’t nobody got time for that.

    1. Hi there! I’m not aware of non-body shaming gyms in Singapore but I do know of a good friend starting yoga classes for plus sized girls so I
      Will update the blog on the details for that. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

