curves become her : a new dimension

Hello my loves,

thank you so much for the feedback after the post about eating disorder awareness. It is much more prevalent than we assume, and I know so many of you can relate to some of the habits people with eating disorders adopt as a means of preserving their ‘habits’.

I felt like a simple look this evening,
something I typically wear for a workday.

I also chose it because it highlighted my curves. There is a point to make with these images.

I attended a workshop today for a local campaign about ending Violence against Women, known as We Can Singapore. Local women’s group AWARE (Association of Women for Action and Research) held this workshop geared towards people who are interested in being a part of this movement and spreading the word. After volunteering to participate and taking the pledge, we are known as Changemakers. Our task is to inform at least 5 people in our midst about the issue of violence against women.

The word violence is associated most with physical aggression but there is more to that term. Emotional abuse is a form of violence. Psychological abuse is another form of violence. And there is more from where that came from.

I made a pledge to end fat shaming and slut shaming from happening within my reach, as close or distant as the shaming is happening. If I can lend my voice and make a difference, it would mean the world to me.

As a plus sized girl, I am made fully aware of my womanly curves by many. Strangers, people I have only just met, family, friends.

Have you ever felt that you had to cover yourself up or hide your magnificence because you didn’t trust the world around you?

Yes, that’s what I am talking about.
They try to make a curvy girl feel ashamed of her silhouette because she is deemed too ‘sexy’ or ‘provocative’ for flaunting them.

I don’t even make a conscious effort to flaunt my body. I don’t have to resort to that. I simply dress as I wish. But for many of us, that act itself is a privilege.

Does being fat make me shameful?
Does being voluptuous make me a slut?

Does your size have to determine how you are treated by society?
Do your fashion choices have to be based on some higher moral ground that society has conveniently created?

No. Say it loud and clear
No !

NO !

So here are my curves, take it or leave it. And who better to quote than Maya Angelou :

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

20140306-024841.jpg

20140306-024909.jpg

20140306-024932.jpg

20140306-024952.jpg

20140306-025046.jpg

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need of my care,
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

20140306-025122.jpg

This is just the beginning of my chapter with getting involved with something that I have always wanted to be a part of. I am a feminist and I am proud to be a woman.

Cheers to that 🙂
I shall leave you with details of the workwear look and heaps of good juju xxxo Aarti Olivia

white leotard top, Forever 21
green Belt, eBay
burgundy pencil skirt, Cotton On
green flats, Bangkok
hairband, local store

2 thoughts on “curves become her : a new dimension

Leave a Reply

