Coven : American Horror Story (inspired)

Hey guys!
It’s almost May, how does time pass so quickly??

I was supposed to post a Curves Around the World post featuring knee high socks but I couldn’t get the ones that I fancied in stores, plus the ones sold in stores here were just too ‘kawaii-ne’ if you catch my drift. I don’t do that style so I said a Hell No, did an about-turn and headed home!

I really do like knee-high socks though, so I’ve got my interest piqued by this CATW theme. Which means that although I failed at doing the post for it this week, Challenge Accepted! I am SO gonna get something shipped and rock a look with it. I never say No to a good challenge 😉

I will be placing the links of my awesome CATW buddies below this post, so check out their cool knee-high socks looks for this week!

So since I failed to take the theme to task, I took another theme on board.
If you don’t know yet then consider yourself educated : I LOVE the Horror genre – books, movies, tv shows – I love getting spooked! I am a huge fan of anything gothic and macabre, so I relish the American Horror Story seasons with glee! (Got that pun?)

The season that ended was entitled Coven. It has got to be the Best season to date. Infusing witchcraft with voodoo rituals, young witches honing
their skills while older witches battling their demons. Jessica Lange steals the show every season and I loved her character that was wrought by power struggles, youth and mortality. It was SO good to see Gabi (Gabourey Sidibe) join the AHS team this season as the plucky Queenie, that girl brought a whole lot of sass to the mix and what are witches without some sass hmm?

Look, as a child of the 90s, I was ALL about that movie The Craft. I was exploring everything taboo as a teen and I remember playing with ouija boards, learning spells (yes I dabbled), and looking like a total goth girl (black lipstick, cropped hair, black fingernails, deathly stares). So this look was a blast from the past, well with the more effeminate Me of today.

The Look:

20140427-032513.jpg

20140427-032536.jpg

20140427-032557.jpg

20140427-032633.jpg

short sleeved maxi dress – H&M sz 16
black floppy fedora – Romwe
black mid-calf boots – H&M
necklace – self made (ages ago)

It was love at first sight with this dress and when I tried it on, I knew the look I had in mind. So I bought the hat from Romwe, bid my time until it got here so I could put this together.

If you have watched the AHS Coven season, you can see how I infused the fashion on the show with this outfit. It’s got a little bit of Gabourey, a little bit of Taissa.

Here, let me give you a sample of how they dressed.

20140427-033323.jpg

20140427-033346.jpg

20140427-033401.jpg

So you can see where I took inspiration for this week’s outfit 🙂

20140427-033449.jpg

20140427-033516.jpg

For makeup, I kept it darker with kohl at the lower lash line and my new favorite lippie from Revlon, a matte purple shade.

20140427-033635.jpg

20140427-033702.jpg

I am normally not one to use filters for my pictures but I decided to darken these ones because it sets the mood well for the look.

20140427-033819.jpg

20140427-033850.jpg

My only other accessory aside from the necklace was this quilted black clutch bought during my trip back to Melbourne last year. Most Melbournites will be familiar with the brand Dangerfield. I used to shop there A Lot when living in Melb. I thought this clutch was a sweet ode to Alexander McQueen’s penchant for skeletons, so I snapped it up.

20140427-034124.jpg

The necklace is old and I made it out of metal from another necklace. I was inspired one day and just decided to give this a go. It’s coming apart, but I thought it’s industrial style would go well with the look.

20140427-034237.jpg

So this was my inspired look this week.
I’ll do another take on it tomorrow, it’s almost 4 in the morning here so time to wrap this up and catch up on some zzzz.

Here are the links to my fellow Curves Around the World members :

Kate from Australia
http://www.sparklesandlace.net/blog

Helen from England
http://everyoneshouldsparkle.blogspot.co.uk/

Thulie from South Africa
http://thickfitandfabulous.blogspot.com/

Nina from the USA
http://curvymod.blogspot.com/

Aislynn from Denmark
http://www.AislynnsWorld.com

Jennifer from Germany
http://dressingthesecurves.blogspot.de/

Enjoy the weekend!
Love, Aarti Olivia
P.S : the piccie below was a candid shot taken of me staring at a group of girls giving me those ‘looks’. You know, the one they give fat girls. Needless to say, the stare I gave them from this picture stopped them in their tracks. They even walked over to the other side so they’d have to avoid my eye hahaha.. 😉

Cheers to the witch in all of us,
may our sassiness reign supreme !

20140427-034516.jpg

24 thoughts on “Coven : American Horror Story (inspired)

  1. Wow!! I’m an active follower of your blog for a while now. While I read your posts, I don’t always comment. But I must say, you are wearing the hell out of this ensemble miss lady!!! Love it, and I’m inspired.

    1. Hi Kishina!
      Thanks for following 😀
      Thank you so much! Feel free to write comments. Im glad you’re inspired!

    1. you’re so right, you can never go wrong with black! Ooh yes I’d love to see your look. Is it on your website?
      and thank you so much for the love!

      1. Lol I have to post a pic on my blog, believe it or not black is a yearly color I wear lol it runs in the family. I’m not much of a fashion blogger but for you doll I’ll try. Maxis are like a staple in any city. I’m super short but I do wear them lol. Not good for the escalators lol I just saw a few at hm and forever 21. But you are happy to look through my blog. Xxxx

      2. yearly colour? How interesting! You don’t have to be a fashion blogger to have fun with fashion 😉 you’re right, maxis are a staple now, regardless of height! I look taller in my pics but I am only 5 ft 2 so I know what you mean :))

      3. lol omg I thought you were not around my height! its the black!! it makes you look taller! lol Yes you are right, you can have fun with fashion. I am a bit off the wall whenit comes to fashion but i do wear black year round. Its just something that i am just noticing. I have shorts they are black or i have a black crop top! i like maix skirts though i trip lol im 5 ft even lol i wear platforms still trip lol. xxxxx-jennifer

    1. hehe Im glad I make you laugh!
      Well I broke off the metal pieces with a heavy duty scissors, bought a few rhinestones and I read about this diy tutorial to make bib necklaces. So I fashioned it accordingly 🙂

  2. This is h&m overseas? Or singapore? I’ve been looking for a maxi for ages!! Contemplating getting from f21 coz the size L looked okay on me! I’m a size 16-18 btw! But those were sleeveless and I’ve been looking for a maxi that is affordable and with sleeves! 🙂

    1. Hi Ellie!
      This is from H&M Singapore, the flagship store at Somerset. It’s an EU 44 if Im not wrong, but give the size 44 and 46 a try just in case. I found it on the ground level. F 21 has v pretty maxis too on their US website. Happy shopping! 🙂

  3. I found your blog by accident, but I must admit you rock this style! And you are first blogger that made me leave some comment 😉 Stay cool…

Leave a Reply

