Love EVERY Body #6 – Bum

20140507-144826.jpg

Hello Hello !

This is the 6th instalment of the body positivity workshop entitled Love EVERY Body run by Leah of the blog Just Me, Leah

The previous post about the tummy that I titled Jelly Belly was very personal and filled with emotion. I’d like to thank Leah, my fellow LEB bloggers and my readers out there who were so sweet with your comments. You guys sure know how to make this girl beam from ear to ear!
I am very humbled ❀

Righto so without further delay, let's talk about the bootay πŸ˜‰

If you read my LEB post about the chest, you'll know that I was a late bloomer in that department. No such thing with the tush! I've been pretty well endowed back there since my curves began to form in my teens. At that time, the bum was nothing but a bother. I'm the kinda girl that jiggles when she is running, both front and back..I was so conscious of the attention that garnered!

In the 90s, it was all about baggy pants, oversized tops, and long dresses with boots. I wasn't the kind of girl who would appraise her naked body in the mirror but I was aware that as I moved towards my 20s, my posterior was getting a lot of unwanted attention.

Today, I LOVE my bum.
It's pert, dimpled and perfectly round.
It jiggles and sways, it needs a decent seating space and it occasionally is a resting spot for my cats. Don't ask me why, cats are cats.
I may have a bad hair day or a lousy face day or even a bloated tummy day but I never have a bad booty day πŸ˜‰

20140507-150430.jpg

Apparently, the first thing the hubster zeroed in when he realised he had the hots for me was the bum. I was bent over to retrieve something and he enjoyed the view.

As cute as that is, it can be rather annoying. I remember asking an ex boyfriend what he liked the most about me. Guess what his immediate reply was.. sigh.

There are big booty lovers from all over the world who will slow down as I pass them by just so they can enjoy the view. And Im not saying that you can’t look. I celebrate my curves. But the attention can get disconcerting..
there is a distinct difference between appreciation and objectification.

The male physiology is Not an excuse for ogling. Being well endowed does not mean that I give a man permission to grab my ass or pinch it. Unless you’re my husband, my best friend Chita or my pal Rachel .. you don’t get to touch my bum.

If you look at images of Hindu Goddesses in temples, you will notice that they are very curvaceous. I suppose if I believed in a God, I would have told myself..the Gods and
Goddesses intended us Indian women to be this way and it is beautiful. That’s not a bad thought. I wish that someday, all Indian women will feel less body conscious and strut their beautiful curvy bodies, without thinking fearfully about getting manhandled. And for that, the men need to learn about respect.

Appreciate my body, Respect my body.

Now going back to my bum.
It’s pretty funny when it refuses to get into a pair of jeans or protrudes when I am swimming a freestyle..a floating bum hahaha. I have the combination of an hour glass body and pear shaped body. So that makes it an Hour Pear? or a Pear Glass? *scratches head* My lower body is more proportionate to my shoulders, but the booty gets in the way so it gets weird. I fit into most skinny jeans nicely at the thighs and waist but the booty is always so damn snug that I am in constant vigil over the buttcrack.

Dancing has really shaped my body and in recent times, belly dancing with the booty was fun..as was learning to twerk! I was laughing away when I got told that I am a natural “twerker”. The years of running and swimming must have played a part too, along with years of Pilates, yoga, boxing, kickboxing and weight lifting. Ah all the silly things we are experts at that can’t possibly be placed in a resume!

This was one of the less challenging LEB posts and I cannot wait to read the posts my other blogger pals have written. It’s important to read the stories of your community to gain a bigger, better perspective.

Here are a few bootylicious piccies :

20140507-155255.jpg

20140507-155330.jpg

20140507-155353.jpg

Miss Olivia Bootay signing off,
reminding you to own your curves

xxxo Aarti Olivia

12 thoughts on “Love EVERY Body #6 – Bum

  1. I love the way you dress and how your outfits flatter your figure. You have a great sense of style and you always look confident πŸ™‚

    1. oh my you made me blush πŸ™‚ Thank you Amria! It’s a work in progress and I am so encouraged by your feedback πŸ™‚

  2. You are a natural pear Hun. Be proud and show it off. And twerking omg aren’t you cute. Lol embrace it I know the feeling I am a hour glass with some tummy lol. I’m very top heavy and bottom I’m amost even lol Men will think they can do what they want oh no we know how to handle that. Oh and yes you have a list of who can touch UR butt lol I am sitting in traffic loving this post. Dance your life to the fullest Hun. And you own those outfits.

    1. you’re so cute! Thank you so much darling. Ooh it sounds like you are mighty sexy πŸ˜‰ I will keep at it with owning the looks!

      1. Lol oh geez I commented twice didn’t know the other went through anywhoo you are very welcome and yes pools beaches all of the watery place are people who will kill themselves staring lol so make the swimsuit bright they won’t miss you lol

  3. Omg aren’t you cute. Embrace your curves. You have in these pictures. Also ik all about how the booty world works. I have big boobs to add to the Maddness so honey I feel you. Yoga is funny because I can’t breath or my butt is up in the air geez. Swimming I’m praying the suit stays on. Oh all in a days work. Also Indians are beautiful and curvy like we are. I love how you are similarly shaped and my friend says as you do on learning how to embrace it. Such a role model you are becoming. Oh and the tweaking thing too cute I’m laughing here on traffic. Great post xxxx

    1. lol! I have the same problem at Yoga!! and Swimming too, I have to be mindful that the suit does not move around..I don’t want to get kicked out of the pool! Yes, exactly..all in a day’s work πŸ™‚ Thank you for the love!! xxx

  4. Booty booty booty! You have a lovely bum. I also have the floating bum of doooooom when swimming. I’m too damn buoyant for my own good. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you love your butt. Fat bottomed girls, we make the rocking world go round!

    1. hahahaha!!! floating bum of doom! That phrase is a keeper! Im the same, buoyant and floating isn’t a problem at all. Cheers to our bootyliciousness!

  5. That is one sexy bootay! I am a big fan of my bum too. My husband’s pet name for me is Botty because he says it’s my best feature.

    1. hehe thank you! Lol that’s an adorable pet name! you must be one sexy mama in pencil skirts and pants πŸ˜‰

  6. I love this posts! They are just filled with so much positivity that it’s hard not to look at my own body and not feel positive about it too!

    When I’ve been at my skinniest, I never had curves much less a booty but now that I’m at a healthier weight I definitely have more curves. They were scary to me at first but I have grown to love them and feel sexy in my skin. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

