Kendra’s Mother’s Day Miami Challenge

Hello muppets!

About a week ago, I received an email from Kendra Thornton, travel advocate and expert who among many other fantastic travel-related projects also likes to talk about fashion related to travel. She asked me if I would like to participate in a challenge to provide style options for her trip to Miami, a much deserved romantic getaway with her husband. She requested for something glamorous yet chic, as a style update from being a busy mom with three children. The couple will be staying at The Delano South Beach Hotel. She also mentioned that she wanted the outfits to complement the Magic City’s distinct North and South American culture, its Caribbean twist and swanky restaurants.

Kendra has been featured on tv shows like Tyra Banks and Nate Berkus, where she shares her tips on planning, packing, and numerous other aspects of travel. So you can imagine my trepidation when I took this on.. plus with the asthma attack last week. But what is life without a good challenge!

So I took to Polyvore, that magical fashion collage website and got started. I created 3 fashion boards for different things she might want to do during her getaway.

Look 1

20140516-020609.jpg

I have yet to visit the United States so Miami is something I have inferred about from magazines and television.
What comes to mind are the beaches, the palm trees and the Latin vibe. Being Indian, I love rich colours so I knew that I wanted to make all 3 looks pop out with pretty colours and chic accessories.

Like Kendra, I have been travelling for a very long time and dressing up when
holidaying just makes it so much more fun!

I knew that a maxi dress was in order, but I didn’t want to go for a regular white or plain coloured one. This gorgeous printed satin dress from Mango just Had to be a part of this collage. This shade of sunset orange will give anyone a sun kissed glow.

Since it has a rather intricate pattern on it, I went easy with the accessories.
A shawl is a useful ‘just-in-case’ accessory during travel, who knows it
might start to rain and you’ll need something to cover your head up for a while! I have a fascination with jute bags when I am on a tropical getaway, especially one that’s this sizeable because you can just dump whatever you want to, that may have been an afterthought but a necessary one – sunscreen, perhaps? Or the pair of Mango sunglasses in this collage!

Golden bangles and a unique pair of hoops are an easy accessorising duo when travelling, and they have the instant remedy to bringing your look some sparkle.

I never go anywhere without my lipstick and body lotion – pretty lips and smelling nice makes you feel so fresh even if it’s been a long day of walking around. I added a mint green as nail colour to bring some spring into the look.

A travel magazine or book is always a nice touch to add to your relaxation time – musing over your next trip while basking in your present trip is Fun!

Given that the dress has a warm tone,
I went with a nude pair of Zara heels that aren’t too high and complement the gold accents (jewellery & sunglasses) of this look.

Look 2

20140516-022843.jpg

This look is for a romantic night out in South Beach. The children are not around, it’s just the both of you and you have not had time to let your hair down with a few drinks and a few dance moves. So out comes the sexy diva!

Latino fashion and culture is so rich and vibrant that I knew I had to pick this stunning Monsoon bodycon dress that has a little bit of tropicalia and a little bit of spring fever.

These House of Harlow tassel earrings go perfectly with the black embroidery and ASOS fringe leather bag, and a pop of matte red on the lips will bring on the sensuality of this look!

Keeping with the colour palette, I went with green ModCloth heels, awesome Prouenza Schouler round sunglasses (you never know when you might need them!) and a serious case of green bling with the Piaget jewellery cocktail ring.

NOTE: now bear in mind, that these are inspirations for looks that can be done at a much cheaper price! I am not saying Kendra or you have to burn holes in your pockets to look good. You know how I myself style my looks, at the fraction of exorbitant high fashion prices. Also, I am doing this challenge for FUN – lest you think I have changed blogging topics, tsk tsk! Dressing a mom up for her Mother’s Day break is something I wish I could do in real life too for all the amazing mothers out there.

Look 3Β 

20140516-024448.jpg

I created this look with the following in mind – effortless chic. Effortless chic seems easy (obviously..) but there is a great deal more thought that goes in it than us ladies love to admit.

For brunch or lunch at a snazzy restaurant, I chose a green Bebe jumpsuit that can either be worn with those golden strappy heels the model has on, or the Rachel Zoe Cecille golden sandals that are just as eye catching.

These Moroccan hoop earrings from Nordstrom resemble a pair that I own, and I love the sheer elegance of it.

Instead of your usual colour blocked clutches or totes, try something different like this vintage bamboo half moon clutch handbag from Etsy.
If you like one of a kind accessories, then Etsy is your best bet πŸ™‚

I went for an orange palette with the lips and nails, because it’s a lovely colour for this season and such a bright shade breaks the monotony of a look.

So, there you have it!
My first fashion board challenge!
I have dabbled with them on Polyvore over the years, but never had the guts to actually submit them. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to get this done because of my constant coughing and wheezing, but there I go surprising myself again!

Here are details to Kendra’s trip and itinerary, including details about the hotel so check it out Here

Whether these looks are winners or not, I already feel like one πŸ™‚

Chat soon,
much love Aarti Olivia

20140516-025900.jpg

11 thoughts on “Kendra’s Mother’s Day Miami Challenge

    1. They do??? Yay!!! Now I’ll be ready for Miami when I holiday there too πŸ˜€
      Thank you Princess Z !

Leave a Reply

