What Curvy Means to Us

20140619-012252-4972107.jpg

Hey guys!
So I am part of a joint write-up with other blogger friends, discussing a word that is commonly used in the plus size community : Curvy.

There has been so much debate and discussion about the word Curvy and the use of it. So when my friend Joi of the blog In My Joi contacted me to join in this collaboration to express my views, I knew I had to be a part of it!

1) How do you define the word curvy :

Curvy to me, is one of the descriptions used to speak of a womanly shape. For example, as a plus size woman, the word curvy is a descriptor of how my body is shaped – with a softness, roundness and a voluptuous appearance. The word curvy depicts lines deviating from straightness in a smooth continuous fashion. Now I don’t know about you but that right there is downright sexy.

2)Has your perception of the word curvy changed, since joining the plus sized community?

No it has not changed.
If anything, being a part of the global plus size community has encouraged me to embrace, appreciate my curves and to own my body.

3) How do you feel about the public’s perception of the word curvy and it’s use in the plus size community?

I think that more people out there have trouble with the fact they they see women who are not stereotypically curvy calling themselves that. At the same time, more people are adopting healthier views of their bodies, because they can identify with being a curvy girl.
So the word is quite the Catch 22 if you ask me.

Check out what ‘CURVY’ means to my fellow #psbloggers :

Ashley :
http://www.fabellis.com

Delilah : http://www.pumpsandstudz.blogspot.com

Joi :
http://www.inmyjoi.blogspot.com

JoJo :
http://www.icurvyworld.com

Lauren : http://www.thecurvyperfectionist.com

Nina :
http://www.curvymod.blogspot.com

Unfortunately, I couldn’t send in my picture in time for the photo collage above because I have been in and out of the hospital..yes yours truly is quite ill. But I hope to chat soon with you guys!

all my love,
xxxo Aarti Olivia

12 thoughts on “What Curvy Means to Us

  1. I hope you feel better soon! I’m glad to have participated in this collaboration with you. I definitely agree with your viewpoint on it being a Catch 22.

  2. Hey Aarti! Another good post and I luv it!.I admire all curves(including my own). I just want women to have more confidence and have that self-esteem to luv every inch. I Am a Curvy Gurl because I luv my curves!. We are meant to have curves. Get well A.

  3. I love this! It’s about loving ourselves no matter our shape or size. I beileve this so much that I started a size acceptance T-shirt company; Frumpy Flakes (www.frumpyflakes.com). We are taking back the word Frumpy one person at a time!! Keep doing what you’re doing ladies!!

    B.

  4. Hope you feel better Olivia! Excellent post. I agree that it’s interesting how some people are coming to really “own” the phrase while others give it a negative connotation.

  5. I hope you feel better soon girl! But yeah I totally agree with you and yes the plus size community has also helped me to embrace and appreciate my curves! 🙂

    1. thanks girl!
      Im at the hospital right now, waiting for my appointment while replying. I could have written much more for that post had the tummy not been giving me so much grief! Maybe I’ll do a longer write up sometime soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

