Curves Around the World : Favorite Song

20140711-223953-81593640.jpg

Hello loveys,
I hope your week has been going well?
Im definitely looking forward to the weekend, it’s been a tiring week.

This week’s theme for CATW proved to be quite challenging. But you know I’m always up for a challenge 😉

Picking the song was like looking for a needle in the haystack! I didn’t know where to begin. Should I pick a song that I have loved for ages? But I like a variety of genres – rock, heavy metal, big band, jazz, electronica, neo-soul, soul, Drum and Bass, Hip Hop, World music, alternative & folk rock.

So you can see the conundrum.

I finally decided on a song that I’ve been listening to for a while – Do My Thang by Estelle Featuring Janelle Monae. You can sample the song Here

It’s one of my Happy tunes, I especially enjoy listening to it when I am getting dressed for a blog shoot. If you have a listen to the song, you’ll know why 🙂
It’s got spunk and sass. The lyrics go something like this :

“I can’t wear my clothes like you, because I’m not
I can’t do my hair like you, because I’m not
I can’t walk around like you, because I’m not
I can’t do my thing like you, well that just ain’t hot
And If you are expecting me to give you an apology
For being nothing like you’re used to
Well go on right ahead and wait
Hold your breath and concentrate
Keep holding till your face turns blue

My road, it ain’t your road, but trust i know, i just where I’m going
My flow it ain’t your flow, but trust I know, I just how I’m flowing
I’ma do my thing
I’ma do my, I’ma do my thing
Please feel free to hate and complain
Cause I’m a do my thing
I’ma do my, I’ma do my thing
Say what you like cause this one ain’t gonna change”

I’m unapologetic about being the way that I am. Plus sized, geeky, sassy, introverted.

The Look :

20140711-230112-82872617.jpg

20140711-230211-82931257.jpg

20140711-230250-82970159.jpg

Black & White colour blocked mini bodycon dress – Cotton On sz L

printed fabric & metal choker – store in Jakarta

printed deep green flats – Charles & Keith

This was my last dress purchase at Cotton On, bought it at the start of the year. I say Last because just like a lot of stores that I used to shop from before, the buyers seem to bring in stuff in smaller sizes after sometime. So they stop bringing in XL’s, after the brand is a hit. I really don’t know why it happens, but I’ve noticed it for quite a while. The fabrics of the tops & skirts at the store have not been flattering of late. So I’ve stuck with casual tees and accessories from Cotton On.

Anyway long monologue aside!
I love the fit and stretch on this dress.
I’ve gotten a little more accustomed to wearing outfits below the knees over the year, so I would have happily posed for this outdoors but it started pouring like crazy.

20140711-233011-84611683.jpg

20140711-233116-84676802.jpg

Just having some fun, was playing the song during the shoot for some inspiration!

20140711-233238-84758779.jpg

The fabric has a Lyra-esque feel to it and I like the curves of the white outline.

Little details of the look :

20140711-233554-84954701.jpg

20140711-233626-84986187.jpg

20140711-233706-85026416.jpg

Music has kept me going during the most trying of times. Well, music keeps me going all the time. I’ve always got a tune playing in my head, always humming a tune in the shower. There’s a song for every situation in life!

I was brought up on Indian music of course and I love it to this day, especially the older songs. My love for all other kinds of music started when I was in primary school. At first it was just anything on the radio that wasn’t Indian! Then I gravitated to alternative rock for some reason. Learning the keyboards at 12 gave me an appreciation for classical music especially Debussy, Bach and Strauss.
I can identify most with this quote about music :

“Music is within people; so they are not afraid, so they can be closer to one another, so they can find themselves in each other.

Music is not only a gift, but also a service; not also a work but also a struggle, not only a mission but also a message”

Chat soon my darlings,
have a good start to your weekend
xxxo Aarti Olivia

20140712-000335-215070.jpg

11 thoughts on “Curves Around the World : Favorite Song

  1. Oh what a perfect post! Be you be glad be geeky in a short bodycon! I love it and the song makes me feel the same. The white in the dress highlights perfection. I’m so very proud of your rise from your struggles. You owned them and your curves. Do your thing.

    1. Thank you chicky! Tight hug.
      This dress is just so versatile and I love how it hugs my curves so nicely. It’s definitely a fav. I will continue to do my thing! and you do your thing!

  2. This was a fabulous post! I think you chose the correct song for the post and for yourself and what you stand for. I love the outfit and I think the dress suits you so well. It shows off your lovely figure.

  3. Oh you picked an awesome song and I think the outfit suits it perfectly. I only own one thing from cotton on which is my kimono jacket because I don’t really fit in there clothes there but I think that dress is fantastic and it looks great on you! 🙂

    Nina

Leave a Reply

