these are a few of my favourite things : Pretty Wedges

Hello!

I have decided to come up with a series talking about some of my favourite fashion items. My first post is dedicated to a particular style of shoes – wedges – because it’s a style that I really like and it does much less damage to my injured feet than high heeled shoes do. When I say wedges, I mean low to mid heel wedges. Of course I do wear a variety of shoe styles aside from wedges, and I will wax lyrical about them in upcoming posts.

Most of us girls have online shopping wish lists; items bookmarked that we keep in consideration for our next shopping haul. I’m sharing my wedge heels wish list with you today πŸ˜‰

A few stores that I window shop for shoes online : ASOS, Charles & Keith (local), Zalora (local), Nine West.

For those not in the know, Zalora is an online fashion retailer in Singapore (and other parts of Asia, if I recall correctly) that carries a variety of brands across womens wear, mens wear, footwear, beauty and sports. I normally keep my eyes peeled for their fashion accessories – bags, shoes, jewellery – and their beauty products from Sephora.

Zalora’s pretty wedges on my wish list :

Zalora Grey kitten wedge slip on mules

IMG_6857.PNG

Velvet Alisha striped low wedges

IMG_6858.PNG

Edge Sally strappy wedges

IMG_6859.PNG

Bata Marie Claire platform rope wedges

IMG_6860.PNG

My usual go-to place for wedge heels in Singapore is Rubi. It’s an offshoot company of Australian company Cotton On and the stores that I frequent are the Cotton On at Vivo City and the Rubi store at Ion Orchard.

I have an ongoing love for pastel shades but I do love so many other colours & prints, you’ve seen my “Dorothy” shoes with spiked heels πŸ˜‰

my three Rubi wedge heels :

Light salmon pink

IMG_6849.JPG

Mint green

IMG_6847.JPG

If you’ve been following my blog for sometime, you Know that I have worn both pairs time and time again! That’s because wedges are built sturdier. The ‘wedge’ occupies the entire space under the arch and heel portions of the foot, which provides better balance and support. I’ll have you know that Salvatore Ferragamo popularised the wedge heel back in the late 1930s when he introduced the design to the Italian market.

This was my latest acquisition from Rubi, yet to show it off in a blog post πŸ™‚

Tropical print

IMG_6848.JPG

Here are some of my current favourites from the ASOS shoes section :

ASOS RIDDLE wedge ankle boots

IMG_6850.PNG

B Store Salvatore 12 exclusive sandals

IMG_6851.PNG

ASOS POLISHED pointed wedges

IMG_6852.PNG

New Look Field wide fit multi strap Demi wedge sandals

IMG_6853.PNG

I like shopping at Charles & Keith because of their classic style of footwear. They do keep with trends as far as colours go and I have an adorable colour-blocked box clutch from the store – they sell handbags, sunglasses and belts too.

Here are a few coveted pairs from their online store :

Pointed Glitter Pumps

IMG_6854.PNG

Ankle Strap Wedges

IMG_6855-0.PNG

Pointed Wedge Pumps

IMG_6856.PNG

Nine West was one of my go-to places to shop for shoes back when I lived in Melbourne, and if I don’t see styles that I quite like in their local stores, I don’t mind making an online purchase. As always .. colour, form and fit make all the difference for me. It’s silly but I always get a kick out of the names they pick for their footwear. For example, there’s a pair of sandles known as Valmiki..Valmiki was a Hindu poet who was responsible for writing one of The most important Hindu epic poems. Couldn’t stop chuckling at the thought of Mr V walking around in those sandals πŸ˜€ Here are two pairs on my wish list :

Relaxxin peep toe wedges

IMG_6861.PNG

Falkner open toe wedge sandals

IMG_6862.PNG

I figured I would zone in on a specific type of accessory than just talk about shoes alone because we all know that there is so much that can be talked about!

What kind of shoes do you rave about?
Are there pairs on your wish list? If so I’d love to know! πŸ™‚

Looking forward to getting a fashion post done soon. I hope you’re doing well and I’m sending you lots of love!

xxxo Aarti Olivia

IMG_6871.JPG

Leave a Reply

