Curves Around the World : Feminine meets Masculine

IMG_8326.JPG

Hello loves,
so I am trying to clear the fashion post backlogs and it’s taking me a bit of time so bear with me..

How was your weekend?
I hope you’re well. Feel free to drop me an email if you’d ever like a listening ear or advice..I’d be glad to help.

It’s been an eventful week.
I went for my first plus size model casting call for Singapore’s very own plus size magazine Big is Gorgeous. I wasn’t sure if I ought to give it a try since I have zilch experience except for the blog..but my dear friend Priscilla Boh, who is Singapore’s very own plus size model, made sure that I got there and I am very grateful that she gave me that nudge 🙂

It wasn’t as scary as I expected it to be, and I got to meet the faces behind the magazine. I discovered their magazine after Priscilla was featured on the cover and I was so happy that this little red dot of an island actually has a magazine dedicated to our local plus size community! Being plus sized in Singapore isn’t easy. You either feel invisible or way too self conscious because people can be harsh with their opinions. You’re made to feel unpretty or a sight that should be hidden or someone who should change – because there obviously must be something wrong with a plus sized person. Having said that, a change of outlook has begun and there lies great potential in that change.

The theme I took on this weekend was Feminine meets Masculine. It’s ironic because I was a self professed tomboy for the longest time. Somewhere down the line however, I began to notice changes in my style preferences. Will I ever be a complete girly girl? Nah. But, I am certainly no tomboy now. So this theme is quite fitting with where I am in terms of personal style.

The Look

IMG_8198.JPG

IMG_8218.JPG

IMG_8233.JPG

tribal accented necklace – Lovisa
crop top – Forever 21 Plus
sleeveless utility jacket – Cotton On
camo leggings – Forever 21 Plus
shoes – Charles & Keith
ring – purchased in Phuket, Thailand

So I went a step further and incorporated military style, that’s still in flavour. I will always be partial to this style, having a handsome uncle who looked dapper in his army uniform made quite the impression on me. I loved his khaki beret with the spiffy uniform and badges. Plus once upon a time I did hover around the idea of joining the armed forces – SO glad I didn’t, because I wouldn’t have lasted a day. I’d have been kicked into the detention barracks for insolence and resistance to authority, which always will be an issue with me :/

Of course there are so many ways this theme could have been tackled but my head seemed to harp on doing something military chic so here we are. A crisp 2 pieced or 3 pieced suit, A structured blazer or leather jacket, high waisted pants, masculine boots, hats..they would have all worked.

When I think of celebrities who mastered this look I instantly think of Coco Chanel, Diane Keaton, Katharine Hepburn, Marlene Dietrich, Tilda Swinton, Agyness Deyn, Alexa Chung and Leandra Medine (who I practically worship).

IMG_8332.JPG

IMG_8330.JPG

IMG_8329.JPG

IMG_8327.JPG

IMG_8333.JPG

IMG_8336.JPG

IMG_8337.JPG

IMG_8338.JPG

There was a time ages ago when women asserted their strengths by dressing in a more masculine style…Or maybe some of them just plain liked dressing with that edge, I can relate to that 😉 Androgynous fashion is certainly here to stay and this isn’t solely for women to take on more masculine fashion anymore. Our counterparts from Mars are boldly taking on colours, prints that they would never have been seen dead in before; they wear styles and accessories inspired by womenfolk.

With the look that I went for, I was admittedly shy with the tummy peeking out but after a few clicks I said “Ah sod it” and ditched the button of the vest at first, then ditched the vest altogether!

This sea change is due to a personal post I made on Instagram a while back. I took pictures of my belly – stretch marks and all – and basically said “Well this is me and I am cool with it now.”

Psst…I’m quite active on IG so feel free to follow me there 🙂

Little Details

IMG_8262.JPG

IMG_8260.JPG

IMG_8264.JPG

IMG_8266.JPG

IMG_8272.JPG

Til my next post,
be kind to your body and yourself.

xxxo Aarti Olivia

10 thoughts on “Curves Around the World : Feminine meets Masculine

  1. Hey huh. Your outfit is so on point bravo as always. I need a few things. Your nail color, your hair color and your pose lol xxx and the crop top I can’t get enough of. 👑💚

    1. aww!! thanks babe! well you can have all that and more..getting the hair done was pricey but the nail colour and crop top were very affordable 😉 hope you’re doing well!

    1. hey girl! How have you been? Hugs!
      I did talk about the hair revamp in a blog post! I’ve gone blonde 😀 and I love the change, was much needed

  2. I love the fact that you were able to step out of your comfort zone and venture into something new. Your look is really cool! And believe it or not you do have this extra charisma shining through. I think your personality comes through and you reflect inspiration, confidence and body positivity.

    1. thank you So much love!
      I am so happy that this look was so well received and I hope to work harder with getting my personality to come through my looks!

  3. I love this take on masculine. I don’t think about it often, but military is definitely perceived masculine, but such a sexy look on women. I love it! Fabulous outfit doll! Loving that you look so natural in a look you thought was out of your comfort zone. Brava!

    1. thank you so much!
      I agree, it is a gorgeous look on women. I absolutely love the masculine style and always have. Just not had the opportunity to do it much. Hoping to change that over time 🙂

Leave a Reply

