the sun showers sunflowers : SWAK Designs dress

I wasn’t planning on doing ootd shoots during the holiday but this dress is so pretty, I had to do it justice by posting it on the blog!

I had a mini shopping spree at US plus size clothing store SWAK (Sealed With A Kiss) Designs. It’s an online store that I’m sure some of you must know of. Quite a number of my ps blogger friends love their outfits and rightly so!

I have yet to order one of their infamous Eternity convertible dresses, it’s definitely something I’d like to try on. Here’s the one I am eyeing :

Eternity Convertible Maxi Dress (Regal)

IMG_1259.JPG

Jewel tones are a personal favourite, regardless of season. My girlie Chita and I share a love for the colour green, and emerald is a striking shade.

I’d told myself that it was time to move past the brands I stick to and try what’s available out there for international shipping to my shores. I usually stick with Forever 21 Plus, ASOS Curve, Dorothy Perkins and of recent times .. H&M, but I wanted to change things up so here I am!

The Look

IMG_1141.JPG

IMG_1148.JPG

Sunflower tank dress – SWAK Designs, 1X (US 14-16)
Necklace – The Island Shop at Tangs

The rooftop was my favourite spot of the hotel and that was where the beautiful eternity pool was situated as well so I figured, why not? Yes I am barefoot, because a while later I swiped the makeup off and jumped into the pool!

This dress was part of their summer lookbook so it isn’t available anymore sadly, daisies & sunflowers (happy floral colours) are a recurring summer theme so there’s bound to be another gorgeous version of this dress next summer. When I do spot it I will be sure to let you know! 😀

I’d been eyeing this dress for a few months but didn’t end up buying it until much later, but that’s okay because it tied in so well with my spur of the moment holiday. The black mesh trim made it stand out, I wasn’t sure how it’d look on my silhouette..but I knew I wanted to give it a try.

I’ve noticed that most SWAK Designs dresses seem very soft and lightweight. The sunflower tank dress was no exception, it felt like second skin.

I reckon it can be styled in a few ways. I haven’t thought about how best to remix this look, I am certainly open to suggestions! Frankly it’s really pretty on it’s own so I may or may not do a rehash.

A sun-sand-sea type of vacation has a bohemian vibe to it (in my opinion anyway) so I lugged along a few boho pieces like this wooden necklace.
At first I considered not accessorising at all for this look but it felt a little bare.

IMG_1151.JPG

The dress is perfect for a jaunt to the beach, an outdoor music festival or while sipping a Mai Tai by the pool 😉

IMG_1112.JPG

Little Details

IMG_1155.JPG

IMG_1156.JPG

IMG_1161.JPG

It’s odd how a long dress like the maxi dress can be perfect for the heat. My older fashion habit with beating the heat used to be camisoles and shorts. Now that I am no longer a size 8, I have had to explore alternatives and it’s really good to know that there are a few options that don’t have us feeling dowdy or suffering from the heat with long sleeves.

After the shoot, this was where I hung out

IMG_1051.JPG

Ah how I miss this view now that I’m back to ‘matchbox’ apartment living.
Pool access all day with a view of the sea and cliffs..it’s good for the soul I tell ya.

Ciao for now,
all my love xxxo
Aarti Olivia

IMG_1165.JPG

5 thoughts on “the sun showers sunflowers : SWAK Designs dress

  1. Omg I love body cons !!! And yes I shop at the site you speak off. The pool is amazing. Where did you go again? I am in love with the black cover up so cute!! I hope you had fun. Okay now did you have a very stylish swimsuit ?

    1. I went to Phuket, Thailand!
      I didnt have a very stylisy swimsuit but its in a colour that I like a lot! thanks so much babe!

    1. Hey girl! How have you been! Yes the hair does alter my appearance a fair bit, even my mom did a double take when she saw me Lol. Thanks hun! Hope youve been well

Leave a Reply

