the Missguided velvet skater dress

IMG_8906

“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

– Robert Frost, The Road Not Taken

Hello loves,
This will be my first fashion ootd (outfit of the day) post for the year πŸ™‚
It’s been a long time coming thanks to delays from this n that.

The Look

IMG_8653

Velvet Skater dress in Maroon
– Missguided UK size 18
black skinny belt – ASOS Curve
H&M boots, Lovisa black flower crown

There were quite a few outfits purchased at the end of 2014 that were unfortunately not perused because I just wasn’t feeling ‘dressy’ with my swollen eyes. So this is the first of that lot that I am shooting for the blog.

IMG_8644

Throughout the period of recovery post-surgery, I had this look in mind. Something about a burgeoning sunset and being amidst nature seemed to be the theme. So I kept this ensemble rather simple in terms of accessorising and let the outfit & surroundings shine instead πŸ™‚

IMG_8654

I love velvet and crushed velvet so much because well, what is there not to like about that texture? It is luxurious and in recent times has been created for modern fashion in all forms – clothing, shoes, necklaces. Even in basic outfits, it’s statement making.

Processed with Moldiv

IMG_8917

IMG_8643

My ASOS Curve purchases took Forever to arrive despite having paid extra for faster shipping. The Missguided package came pretty quickly though so I went with this dress for Christmas.

IMG_8905

IMG_8903

IMG_8904

I’ve gained weight since the holidays so from a size uk 18-20 I guess I’m between a size 20-22 now but this dress still fit rather well for the shoot. Oh don’t worry, I certainly am not lamenting my weight gain..it’s just a fact. Weight goes up and down but with it our morale or sense of style should not be compromised. Style is Sizeless, that’s my mantra!

The quality of the dress is good and on the whole I think it’s a good start for the UK company’s foray into plus size clothing.

Little Details

IMG_8692

I quite like how the skater skirt’s pleats look thanks to the crushed velvet..and it is a really pretty colour.

IMG_8693

IMG_8660

IMG_8670

I’d been looking for a black flower crown for sometime. No matter how many colours I love, black will always be a favourite. A black choker would have set this look off nicely too.

IMG_8677

IMG_8691

If you have a keen eye, you will probably notice that I added blush for a change. It’s not that I don’t like the product, it’s just that I don’t see the need for it because my cheeks tend to flush light pink anyway. I was feeling a little product-happy since this was the first time applying makeup in 2 months, that definitely had a Huge part to play with adding the blush!!

So that’s a wrap with Curves Becomes Her’s first fashion post, yaaay!! πŸ˜€

I am not a trend follower nor am I a trend setter but oh I do love fashion so I have been enjoying the NYFW offering this past week. Some pretty cool styles cropped up, some a little ghastly but it has been a good series of shows so far. The awards seasons have been a tad predictable with their fashion choices, so I wasn’t keen on doing a write-up for that.

What’s in store on CBH’s fashion menu?

You’re just going to have to wait and find out πŸ˜‰ What I can tell you is that there will be more leaps of trying something new, there will be an eclectic array of looks and there definitely will be plenty of self-discovery ❀

Chat soon lovelies,
Happy Chinese New Year to my Chinese friends around the world and Asia! Gong Xi Fa Cai!!

cheers to taking the road less travelled and having fun along the way, Aarti Olivia xxxo

5 thoughts on “the Missguided velvet skater dress

  1. That dress is gorgeous! It looks lovely on you, I might have to try and pick it up myself. Great to have fashion posts back again. (:

    Do you know where the dress in the collage pic is from? The one with the bust cups showing? (Sorry for the awful description..) It has grabbed my attention, so lovely.

    Xia.

  2. This look is so lovely! It’s positively dreamy, like something out of a Baroque painting. I love the romantic touches with the crushed velvet, deep wine color, and floral crown. But I also like that you brought some surprise with your tough boots. Such an interesting combination! I hope you are feeling on the up and up, and I am looking forward to collaborating with you on CATW!

    ❀ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

Leave a Reply

