This and That 

Hello my loves! 

How is everyone faring? I miss updating the blog with regular posts, please don’t think I’ve abandoned ship..it’s just that real life has been quite challenging and admittedly, it has left me with some difficulty trying to be chirpy and motivating. I certainly dislike being a Debbie Downer so I’ve been trying to work on things. 

I won’t lie, it’s still quite difficult for me right now and with each passing week, I feel as if I am passing up on so many opportunities and avenues for the blog. My chronic illnesses have flared up largely thanks to stress so my fashion posts have been far and in between…let’s not even go there with the various blogger groups I am a part of. I feel like I have let so many people down and let myself down. 

Also, there has been a lot more body shaming in my midst and I think being vulnerable as it is right now, it is a lot more triggering. 

But on the brighter side of things.. despite being so out of it, I have had the opportunity to advocate body positivity locally and I cannot be more grateful for the people who appreciate my small body of work to have fought to feature me in a local magazine and newspaper. The term plus size is still a very misunderstood concept here let alone my blog that promotes what many assume to be “unhealthy living”. There are miles to go before the masses here even get what I am trying to say. But that’s okay, Rome was not built in a day 🙂 

Now if you know one major thing about me, it is the fact that I am unabashedly honest. Having been in the blogging world for three years, I cannot help but question if the blog is worth a look or if I am worth a mention. I know..that’s pretty self deprecating right? I feel like as if I really don’t have anything to offer. Yeah it’s dark times for this blogger. 

But I am holding on because I cannot even begin to express how special this little webspace is to me. I have had the opportunity to meet so many wonderful readers, interact with so many wonderful bloggers and activists and other professionals in the body positive, plus size industries both locally and globally, in person and online. This IS my little hub of people. This is where I belong and I feel it in my bones. Nothing has fired me up more than this has. 

I hope to start writing and sharing my thoughts again, regularly. I hope to get to know you better. I hope to prove my inner critics wrong. I hope to heal inside and move past this existential fugue. 

I think Hope is a very powerful thing. It is unlike wishing..where wishing can be done wistfully all your life without actually attaining them, hope gives you purpose and wisdom. Belief or Faith is another powerful thing. It means that you believe in those hopes. And of course there is Courage with a huge dose of strength infused in it. 

I type this as I fend off a gnarly Upper Respiratory Tract infection. I hope that you are in much better health than I am at this moment! 

Chat Soon, 

xxxo Aarti Olivia 

6 thoughts on “This and That 

  1. Hi Aarti! I hope your ago, I only recently started following your blog but love your writing and honesty! I can tell many people adore your blog and I hope you continue. Its important to have time for yourself of course. Sounds so exciting how you have got to meet body positive people etc! Hope your feeling better too 😀 xoxo

Leave a Reply

