With Change, comes Discomfort : Wildflower season 

I think this has been one major running theme of my life. That life is unpredictable and things will change. People will change. You and I will change. 

And it’s nothing to be fearful about. But we do have to endure the few repercussions that come with it, like discomfort. 

I remind myself that these transitional periods are important. This turmoil and discomfort is necessary. 

  
I spent a great deal of my life running away from discomfort. I am not one who adapts to change very well. I like the status quo. Why do things have to change? 

  
But then, when I got myself out of those many ruts, I found myself in positions where I had to take risks/leaps of faith. 

  
The quote above is so true. Who stands in our way the most, more than us? 

  
Every time things have changed and I have felt like I was going to fall apart, I waited for things to fall apart. But they didn’t. That says something about the way we inherently are as human beings. 

  
I have learnt that even the smallest of steps towards the direction of making the changes best for you, gives you so much to learn from than if you choose to stay stagnant. This does not mean you do not live in the moment; life keeps moving in the moment. 

  
I have learnt this a great deal since I started blogging. Work with people who inspire you and make you want to do better. These are the kind of uplifting souls we need. 

  
And if you don’t come out from the other side, maybe it was not your path to take. That does not mean your work has been for nought. 

  
Don’t we know this. If it rains, it pours. But then again.. I have been at the receiving end of the positive spin on this. When you are blessed continuously with reminders of why you should keep doing what you are doing and that you are steered in the right direction. 

  
The Most important quote of my existence. Not everyone is going to agree with you and laud you for what you do. But you’re not doing this for them. 

  
  
Two more important quotes by Friedrich Nietzsche that I live by. 

Even if you are living against the grain, swimming against the tide, so what? People might give you a hundred reasons to give up. Do you listen to them or to what your heart says? 

  
This quote gives me goosebumps. If you concern yourself only with the meanness and shallowness that people thrust upon you, be mindful that you do not let that consume you and make you one of them. Pick your battles wisely. 

  
Comparison is the thief of joy. What anyone else is doing is great for them. What you are doing is not small in comparison. 

   

 I know a lot about fear. The fear of failing. The fear of not being ‘enough’. The fear of getting hurt. The fear of being in public places and big social gatherings. The fear of chatting with someone you don’t know because you just do not trust people anymore – their motives, their underlying resentment. 

But do I stop living as a result? Do I keep running? Do I keep hiding? 

I am doing this post more as a personal means of catharsis. Because once in a while, some of us need creative catharsis. 

I love blogging with all my heart. It is what I think about when I go to bed at night. It is what pervades my thoughts as I awaken. It is what keeps my senses keener when I am engaged in dialogue or watching/reading something. This has become a part of who I am. 

It’s not a bad thing. Not at all. I am addressing the discomforting questions and circumstances I find myself in this year as opposed to last year and the year before that. 

It is necessary to be involved in conversations with people who have No idea what body positivity is and who may exasperate you. You have to start the conversation and even if you’re not getting through as you’d like to, at least you’re making them think. 

It is necessary to speak up and not apologise for your stance, so that the antagonists in your life know that you cannot be swayed or trifled with. You have a reason for having  certain stances pertaining to the body positive movement. 

It is necessary not to get discouraged by shamers, bullies or ignorants. It is uncomfortable not to lash out but what will lashing out really accomplish? Take that hurt and harness it as a strength. 

It is necessary to make time for yourself. When you are constantly on social media, your mobile phone or laptop as I am..you need to give yourself a break every now and then so that you don’t burn out. Stop Doing. Just Be for a while. 

It is necessary not to beat yourself up when you struggle with anxiety, a poor immune system and a tendency towards melancholia. I think we have enough on our plate. A side-dish of self blame or anger is going to achieve nothing in comparison to letting your body rest and working through the anxieties. 

Ignoring your problems do not mean they will miraculously disappear. So even though the thought of going for an extended holiday to a resort sounds mighty inviting, I can sort myself out right here right now. 

It felt like I would not be able to move forward with my other posts if I did not write this one. So it’s done and I feel a little better. 

Chat soon, 

xxxo Aarti Olivia 

  

2 thoughts on “With Change, comes Discomfort : Wildflower season 

  1. I find whenever I start to have doubts about change or fear a change to my surroundings it helps to tell myself “but it could be better.”

Leave a Reply

